MOVIE: “The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Wes Anderson (2014)


MOVIE: “The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Wes Anderson (2014)

Last night I went to the cinema to watch “The Grand Budapest Hotel” with Stevie, so in the original language version. I don’t want to write so much as a review, since I read a lot about this movie and for sure better than what I’d write myself.
I only say this: after a 12 hours travel and a giant kebab, Stevie not only didn’t fall asleep, but we laughed and had fun for all the time of the movie. (Just so you know: it’s not I torture my boyfriend taking him directly to the cinema as he arrives from a long travel, but this was the only available play of the movie in original language in my city, and as you can guess we don’t have so many occasions of going out on a date at the cinema 😉 ).

The movie tells the adventures of Gustave H. and Zero Moustafa, concierge and lobby boy of the famous and rich Grand Budapest Hotel, after the first one is accused of killing a rich old woman and stealing a painting even if he didn’t do it; it’s a funny and enjoyable film, full of interesting and particular characters who move in the middle of an incredible story (sometimes similar to a fable) that teaches us, ironicly, that “[…] there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity. Indeed that’s what we provide in our own modest, humble, insignificant… oh, fuck it.” 😉

A fact I didn’t know and I found only today reading about the movie: it’s inspired by the work of Stefan Zweig, austrian writer, and to his autobiographical book “The World of Yesterday“.

★★★★★

(Images: Web)

2 thoughts on “MOVIE: “The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Wes Anderson (2014)

    • Sometimes it’s good to see even movies which are not so weighty, it was pretty fun 🙂 Did you read something by Stefan Zweig by any chance? I’m very curious at this point.

Leave a Reply

