The beautiful story of my new tattoo


Some weeks ago I got a new tattoo. It’s a simple triskell on my shoulder, nothing too big or important, still a very nice one.

Qualche settimana fa ho fatto un nuovo tatuaggio. E’ un semplice triscele sulla spalla, niente di così grosso o importante, ma comunque molto carino.

tattoo

But I think the nicest part is why and how I got it: it was my little sister’s gift to me and my brother for last Christmas. She thought it was cool to have all three of us the same tattoo subject so that we were in a manner linked for all our lives. The triskell symbol was perfect, because it has three parts, as the three of us. Also it takes together both our origins: we are half ligurian (so celtic origins) and half sicilian (the symbol of Sicily is a triskell). We took appointment in the same afternoon so to do even something all together (thing that happens rarely).

Credo però la parte più bella sia perché e come l’ho fatto: è stato il regalo che mia sorella ha fatto a me e mio fratello per lo scorso Natale. Ha pensato fosse bello che tutti e tre avessimo lo stesso soggetto tatuato, così che in qualche modo fossimo collegati per tutta la vita. Il simbolo del triscele è perfetto poiché è composto da tre parti, come noi tre. In più unisce entrambe le nostre origini: siamo per metà liguri (quindi origini celtiche) e per metà siciliani (il simbolo della Sicilia è un triscele). Abbiamo preso appuntamento nello stesso pomeriggio in modo che fosse un’occasione per fare qualcosa insieme (cosa che accade raramente).

Since, even if we grew up together, we are very different people, we decided to chose the version on the symbol we liked most personally, and this is what came out:

Visto che, pur essendo cresciuti assieme, siamo persone molto diverse, abbiamo deciso di scegliere la versione del simbolo che più ci piaceva personalmente, e questo è il risultato:

tattoos

The first one is my sister’s, under the ear; the second is my brother’s, on the back of the neck; the last one is mine, on the shoulder.

Il primo è quello di mia sorella, sotto l’orecchio; il secondo è quello di mio fratello, sul retro del collo; l’ultimo è il mio, sulla spalla.

It was definitely one of the best gifts I received in my life, and everyone that listened to the story, from the tattoo artist to friends and family, loved the idea. Thank you, sister! ♥

E’ stato decisamente uno dei regali migliori che io abbia ricevuto nella mia vita, e tutti coloro che hanno ascoltato la storia, dal tatuatore ad amici e familiari, si sono innamorati dell’idea. Grazie a mia sorella! ♥

Leave a Reply

